After December 15th, 2017, Free Teacher accounts holders will still be able to log in and use ThingLink to create interactive images, but in order to register and manage students, they will need to upgrade to an individual PRO or PREMIUM teacher account of be a part of an upgraded school or district account.
Schools and districts require software providers to comply with a variety of standards to ensure student safety online. To protect student privacy, we require a verified educator to assume responsibility for student account distribution and safe use. One aspect of this is verifying the authenticity of a teacher or a school signing up to ThingLink, instead of allowing any free user to create an account to manage students without identity authentication. Through payment we can verify the authenticity of the teacher.
If you choose not to upgrade by December 15th, 2017, you will not be able to access groups and projects management on ThingLink. This means you will no longer be able to register students or access current student accounts.
What will my students see if I choose not to upgrade?
They will no longer be able to access their accounts. When they login, they will see a message indicating that in order to use their accounts, they need an invitation code from a paid teacher account. Your students' accounts will not be deleted and students will not lose work, but they will not be able to access groups until the teacher account is upgraded.
How can I upgrade my account?
You can upgrade your account after logging in at www.thinglink.com/upgrade. Or go directly to Pro or Premium. Make sure to use the codes PRO17 or PREM17 to get the discount! If you're interested in a discounted quote for your school or district, send a message to firstname.lastname@example.org.
How will my students re-access their accounts if I upgrade after December 15th?
If your students are already linked to your account, they will have access as soon as you upgrade. If they are not in your groups already, they will be able to login and enter your invitation code in order to join your groups.
How can I find my invitation code after upgrading?
After you have upgraded, you can find your groups and find the invitation codes for those groups from your Projects page. Click Projects at the top of ThingLink and look in the lower left corner of the screen.
How long is the discount valid?
The discount code is valid through December 31st, 2017.
Your account will renew the next year at the standard pricing.